It is impossible to help all people in the world, so governments should focus on people in their own countries. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There has been a difference in opinion as to whether governments should provide help internationally or domestically. In my view, although helping people all over the world is impractical, I do not agree with those who argue that governments should only take care of their own citizens.

On the one hand, I think that the plans of the world’s leaders to provide aid globally is unachievable. First, it is challenging for governments of developed countries to offer help to the nations in separated places because of enormous number of the underprivileged and logistical difficulties, . For example, the American government has to deal with many obstacles when delivering goods or facilities to poor regions in Africa, where people are facing poverty and epidemic diseases. Second, I believe that governments should prioritize expenditure on the welfare state of their own nations. Allocating resources to important areas such as education, health care, as well as stabilizing the economy and politics should be government priorities.

On the other hand, I still argue that government should make all efforts to help as many people as they can. In many underdeveloped countries, the leaders have been carrying the burden of domestic poverty and social problems such as food shortages, terrorism, and epidemic diseases, which are only solved by aid from affluent nations. Unless the poor countries are provided subsidies, they will be pushed to the verge of bankruptcy. Additionally, developed countries are able to support the others through international bodies, such as non-government organisations, which are responsible for providing assistance to people in need.

In conclusion, although helping all people over the world is unachievable, I still believe that the more aids governments provide for other people, the better our world will be.