It’s claimed that teaching local history is more vital to children than global history. I’m of the opinion that studying history on small scale plays a pivotal role in shaping one’s identity and understanding history on global level.

To begin with. Studying history to most of us means studying history on grand scale. But it's worthwhile to remember that knowing about global events pretty much depends on their connection with each community and people in it; that is, studying history on small scale is made up of individuals and communities that all played their part in shaping and being shaped by history. For instance, by reading about Second World War, we now realize the economic plight and starvation which our nation went through during this time. The war that took many people's life and left many societies in destitute.

Besides, if students are educated about local history, they will grasp the big picture of history with moderate ease and more passion.

Furthermore, People identify themselves as a part of the community that they’ve tightened the bond with all its individuals, stories and culture. Our present outlook is a product of all beliefs and lessons that our ancestors provided us with such instances as the rise and fall of civilization, ethical and unethical behavior of our forefathers and all the progress and economic depression they experienced. All these processes broaden our horizon on how we perceive themselves and how we apply this knowledge in constructing our own perception of life. Moreover, knowing about local history develops a sense of belonging and patriotism in individuals.

Overall, all aforementioned ideas lay a foundation stone for education; that is to say, the study of local history is a must not only in giving someone’s identification but also in increasing one's awareness of the world history.