Increasing crime rate is one of the biggest problem in today’s world. Although, the most common preventive method of dealing with criminals in many countries is incarceration, according to recent research findings, education has been seen as the most effective way to rehabilitate perpetrators or forestall any criminal offence in society. I completely agree with this idea that education especially early childhood education not only hinder criminal activity but also encourage individuals to become productive members of community.

To begin with. People’s safety has always been the top priority therefore imprisonment has been accepted as the most efficient measure to stop offenders from inflicting any harm on individuals in society. Incarceration, which has been seen as the reactive measure to a crime prevention, was quite ineffective in rehabilitating offenders, as we have seen many criminals reconvicted within short period after being released. To prevent criminal offence, many countries try to stricken punishment and penalties and if not finding it useful, they go towards finding ways to restrict access to such criminal behavior. They allocate more and more funding to correction facilities every day and give less attention to the root of the problem. Studies have shown that many crimes have been committed by people who are illiterate or lack any sufficient skills.

Furthermore, early childhood education acts as a deterrent and makes children more cognizant of their doings. It also has a huge impact on behavioral and cognitive traits of children as they grow older, many of which are important for their future personality traits. In particular, they are educated how to tackle problem and confrontations in life. If society focus on early childhood education and development, if children are put in schools, they will make something of themselves and constructively serve their community. Teachers also help children who grow up in an abusive and violent environment to channel their negative energy to more productive action.

Overall, prion may be seen as efficient measure to stop offenders from doing any wrong acts for short time, but it isn’t going to rehabilitate prisoners or even contribute to society upon their reentry. Education not only gives them new insight into the way they perceive themselves but also prevents them from committing any further illegal act.