It is more important for schoolchildren to learn about local history than world history. To what exent do you agree or disagree?

The evidence is good that history in general has a profound impact on the ways people, especially schoolchildren develop their point of views about the world. However, people remain divided over whether it is more important for children to be taught local history or world history. In this answer, I will look at the impacts that each factor exerts on children before concluding that national history plays a greater role in schoolchildren than world history.

On a more profound level, revisiting national history gives children who may have potential to be future leaders, the insight and inspiration to move forward. The reason is that children will understand deeply the source of differing perspectives on issues people face in the community and country by learning through the triumphs and failures occured in the past. Moreover, a city is never a community without understanding of its past. The traditions and historical stories reveal the area in which our ancestors lived and when they were living there, therefore, strengthen our community connection and help us form the national pride in all of us.

On the other hand, we can not discount the effect that world history has on schoolchildren. Regardless of cultural difference, we are all human. World history throws light on the distinctive characteristics of human beings, how their thought, behaviours and interactions have changed over time. As a result, world history helps children think about what it means to be human and characteristics we all share. Additionally, through learning history of the world, we can prepare children for international experience and active participation in civic life as global citizens. They will be equipped to get ready for the roles they will inevitably play as citizens of both their country and the world.

In conclusion, national history and world history both affect schoolchildren in different ways, but the former’s impact is significantly greater.