It is more important for schoolchildren to learn about local history than world history. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people think that it is better if young children spend time studying history of neighbourhood rather than that of the world. Personally, I completely disagree with this opinion because I believe world histories and local ones are equally important.

To begin with, there are several good reasons why school boys and girls should learn the history of their locals. The first one is that the past of their cities or towns can make it more interesting and real for children to study history. For example, when learners visit historical sites mentioned in textbooks in their neighbourhood, they would feel more familiar and easier to this subject at school. Students therefore find learning history less tedious compared to memorising events and dates alone. Another reason is that local histories help shape who you are. Since local norms might significantly influence the behaviours of individuals, accumulating knowledge about people and things happened in the place where they live allows youngsters to gain insight into their origins as well as their local cultures.

However, I would argue that it is also important for schoolchildren to learn world history due to its benefits. Firstly, as the world has become globalised, every child better prepares knowledge of events that had huge impacts on the world in order to grow up as future global citizens. Actually, a global citizen is simply a national citizen who knows and cares about the history and contemporary affairs of all humankind. Besides, learning about the world in the past helps students understand how and why the world got to be this way as because it gives attention to the histories of other nations, civilisation and the differences among them. This may lead children to develop critical thinking by evaluating information.

In conclusion, I suppose that school children need to study both local and world history. There is not one that is less important than the other.