It is more important to spend public money on promoting a healthy lifestyle in order to prevent illness than to spend it on the treatment of people who are already ill. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is disputed that the authorities should invest in the promotion of a more active lifestyle rather than investing the curement of the sick. I partly agree with this suggestion as both approaches have their own advantages and believe that the government funding should be managed to meet the need of both.

It is understandable why some people advocate to the view that government should subsidize for those who have illnesses. This stems from the fact that people have already contributed to their society through the tax system, and one of the foremost functions of public fund is to contribute to the well-being of people. It is thus allowing individuals to reap the medical assitance from the wellfare system is one way for government shouldering its responsibility. More importantly, a civilized society is characterized by access to healthcare of the needy people. By supporting the ill, especially those who are disadvantaged, governments send a message to the public that all people can be assured about their health when they are sick, unemployed or retired. In this case, social solidarity can be demonstrated.

Conversely, promotion of healthy ways of life implies several merits for the public. This encourages the active living ways, which counter the negative implications of ubiquitous sedentary lifestyle nowadays. Given the technological advances in recent years, people's wellness is jeorpadised due to the shift in working nature. In the modern workplaces, many workers sit and mantain their postures in a long period, which imparts their reflex and places them at risk of cardiovascular diseases. Another benefit of the government funding active lifestyle is reflected in the social life of the citizens. To motivate people to do more exercises, government often allocates the financial resources at its disposal to construct recreational areas, public places with sport equipment installed. This supplies civilians with locations to socilize and expand their social circle, which give them a sense of communal life.

In sum, I am of the idea that public fund should be diverted in both healthy lifestle promotion and illness treament. While it is the responsibility of the government to safeguard their people from adversity, investment from public money in invigorating active lifestyle ameliorates the effects of modern life, and fosters the social solidarity.