It is neither possible nor useful for a country to provide university places for a high proportion of young people. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an opinion that there is no possible way and point in supplying entry to tertiary education for a wide range of youngsters. In my view, I totally agree with this idea. This essay will discuss, firstly the delivery of such a large scale of higher education services would not bring practical value to society and the learners themselves, and secondly, students' financial restraints.

I believe if everyone could gain admittance to college, it would cause harm to the economy and lack of guarantee on students' success. For example, In Viet Nam, students who completed the high school programs always want to study in a university more than vocational training. This not only causes imbalances in the workforce but also reduce employment opportunities, as well as job security, would to greatly damage the economic structure of the country. This is because there is less chance that graduates would choose blue-collar jobs such as working in factories, rather than the jobs they are eligible for.

Not all youths are able to afford the prohibitive tuition fees. Besides, education in college or university can be costly due to the materials or field trips needed for onsite experiments, especially in practical areas such as medical or engineering. For example, it would cost a student around half a million dollars to pursue medical studies in the U.S. In 2017, the U.S Census reveals that the average medical student debt was 200,000 dollars, with more than one-fourth of graduates carrying higher debts.

Inclusion, I strongly oppose to the idea of providing entry to a high proportion of young people owing to the arguments presented above.