The only way to improve safety of our roads is to give much stricter punishments for driving offences. What extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, traffic accidents are one of the urgent problems in different countries and areas. Many people think that the sole solution to increase safety when participating in traffic is to strictly punish rule-breakers. Although harsh punishments can act as an effective way to deter residents from committing driving offences, I believe that there are some better methods to protect the welfare of road users.

Undeniable, a large number of traffic accidents stem from rule violations such as speeding, drunk driving, or mere ignorance and to deal with these sinners, tight regulations should be applied to prevent inhabitants from sinning traffic laws. For example, VietNam is the country that has about 40% of the sum of traffic accidents related to alcohol in 2019. The Vietnam government, therefore, decided to strengthen traffic law enforcement by growing the fine amount for drunk driving and other offences from the beginning of 2020. As a result, there was a 20% drop in the number of accidents compared to the first two months of 2019.

However, this is not to say that only by using stricter rules can we enhance the safety of our roads. It is true that there are still other effective measures to ensure people's well-being, such as heighten people's awareness through the media about the consequences of committing road offences, or encouraging citizen to use public transport systems like buses or trains. In addition, governments also should invest more money to improve and repair downgraded roads.

In conclusion, punish reckless drivers can be effective but only solve a part of the problem. To achieve the best results, the most effective method may be to combine all the aforementioned ideas.