The only way to improve safety on our roads is to give much stricter punishments for driving offences. What extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the traffic on roads creates many problems for policymakers. Some say the only way to enhance safety is to put more strict punishments on offences. This essay will explain the benefits of that policy and why I disagree with the given statement.

There are many reasons, which lead to more strict rules. To comments on if the government apply tough punishments on-road offences, which decrease the crime rate, this may lead to better road safety for people. For instance, the authority of china put strong rules for roads and people's safety on their major roads in china, as a result, nearly 74% of accidents declined to 23% in the six months. Despite strong rules on highways create obstacles for citizens many times, but it decreased accidents.

However, this type of policy creates many complex situations for the governing people. When road-related crimes’ punishments are more strict, people will try to avoid using their vehicles, leading to people not being interested in buying new ones. This may result in the economy in terms of the car industry. Nearly 40% of sales in the car sector decreased after the road policy made rules very harder for civils, which was introduced in UAE in 2019, which lead to more people public transports. Therefore, although this policy improves the security on roads, it has more disadvantages.

In conclusion, making more strong rules on roads improve safety but it decreases the economy. In my words, it is not an appropriate way to tackle safety-related issues on pathways because it has more demerits in terms of users than benefits.