The only way to improve safety of our roads is to give much stricter punishments for driving offences. What extent do you agree or disagree?

Traffic collision and other traffic-related accidents have been creeping up recently, which requires the government to seek a silver bullet to address. From my perspective, I am completely convinced by the idea that imposing stricter measures for driving offences is an ultimate way to enhance road safety.

On the one hand, stiffer penalties for committing driving offences are likely to result in road safety improvement. Indeed, prolonging the impounding period of the subject vehicle might hinder driving license holder from breaking the rules. This is because drivers fail to desire to witness their vehicles to be left under the heat if their vehicles are impounded, resulting in steering clear of reckless driving. Additionally, driving license revocation instead of suspension is another stricter fine that might increase road safety. The Phillippines, for instance, had levied this obligation for years, which contributes to a gradual decrease in the number of severe traffic jams.

On the other hand, alternatives for deterring drivers from violating the rules appear to be ineffective. The initial measure is to raise commuters’ awareness of the grave consequences of traffic jams on their lives. This measure, however, deems not to persuade drivers, especially those who are residing in low-income developing countries. Take Vietnam as a prime example, the number of road-related deaths is still on the rise although a variety of campaigns on road safety measures have been taken place annually. Another solution is to encourage road expansion to facilitate transports to commute conveniently. Nonetheless, this alternative might deteriorate head-on collisions once drivers fail to control the speed in an emergency case.

In conclusion, although there are a plethora of penalties to improve road safety for commuters; however, it is my firm conviction that imposing stiffer measures for driving violations is the most fruitful way towards road safety.