The government should spend more money on medical research to protect citizens’ health rather than on protecting the environment. Do you agree or disagree?

The debate over whether the government should allocate a large proportion of the national budget on medical service rather than on environmental protection to safeguard humans’ health has become a predominant issue recently. From my perspective, investing in first aid should be as equal as in protecting the environment.

On the one hand, government investment in enhancing the capacity of medical research will bring about a plethora of advantages to the public and the government. One of the most irrefutable benefits is to develop new vaccines against brand-new viruses, which aids individuals to steer clear of fatality. Take SARS-2003 as a prime example, medical research made a breakthrough in fruitfully developing a new vaccine to save millions of infected lives. Additionally, what the government might take advantage of medical development is to strengthen the economy. This is because medical research might build up the labour workforce’s resilience to a freak disease, which leads to improving work performance and therefore promotes the economy.

On the other hand, subsidizing for environmental protection can not be overlooked as this also hinders humans from contracting an array of diseases. In practice, investing money on initiating a friendly-bicycle transport system might contribute to improving human health. This is because carbon dioxide emissions from private cars and other vehicles are supposed to deteriorate air pollution, which causes respiratory diseases. For instance, carbon dioxide emissions caused by motorbikes in the metropolitan areas in Vietnam are attributed to the rise in the number of diseases related to breathing. As a result, carbon emission reduction resulting from preventing fossil fuels burning might assist humans to improve their general health.

In conclusion, it is plausible that the argument on which aspect should the government spend more money on will perpetuate in the future. Nonetheless, it is my firm conviction that the government ought to allocate the state budget on both medical research and environmental protection equally.