Some believe that more state funds should be allocated to health research to ensure citizen’s well-being rather than to protect the environment. However, I will challenge this school of thoughts.

Admittedly, one might argue that medical research should receive more government funds as a large sum of money would be required to conduct an experiment. This can be seen in the development of COVID-19 vaccines, which costs the government billions of dollars in the course of production. In other words, without the substantial financial resources from the state, the production of COVID-19 vaccines could have hardly succeeded. Similarly, a recent adoption of AI technology in drug discovery, which can assist a large number of scientists and pharmaceutical firms in the creation of new medicines, is undoubtedly expensive. These examples bear witness to how important it is for the government to financially support health research.

However, I am convinced that environmental protection should be equally resourced given its inextricable relationship with people’s health. Firstly, environmental problems could result in an array of long-term health issues. For instance, massive exhaust emissions released from the combustion of fossil fuels in production has rendered the air severely polluted, causing a large number of respiratory diseases in humans such as asthma and lung cancer. In addition, biodiversity loss, which adversely impacted on human health, could also be largely attributable to countless environmental issues. A good example is that of the platyplus, one of Australia’s most unique mammals, has been reported to be at risk of becoming locally extinct in Sydney’s Royal National Park due to the constant threat of bushfires, deforestation and pollution. In fact, it is scientifically proven that the platyplus milk could help combat one of humanity’s looming problems – antibiotic resistance. Therefore, the extinction of the platyplus would inflict a huge loss on pharmacological science, which fails to protect people’s life.

In conclusion, while it is undeniable that medical research should be greatly resourced to enhance public health, I believe the environmental conservation should receive the same amount of financial support from the government given its relation to people’s well-being.