Governments should spend more money on medical research to protect citizens' health rather than on protecting the environment. Do you agree or disagree?

Opinions are divided on whether government should allocate financial resources to improve healthcare industry or to preserve the environment. I believe that both factors should be equally allotted to as each one has a significant impact on the existence of humankind.

Granted, there are compelling reasons to say that investing in medical studies to ensure the health of citizens is the appropriate course of action. Chief of these is that humans’ health has been posed to many threats regarding chronic diseases or severe pandemics. COVID-19, say, is a worldwide epidemic which not only is responsible for the staggering fatality rate but also causes economic downturns in a host of countries. Hence, urgent inventions of COVID-19 vaccine and medicines must be executed, which is in dire need of a huge amount of money from the government. Another justification to financially supply to the health-care system is to enhancing the social welfare, allowing individuals to have a greater longevity and lead a healthy lifestyle. Thus, only by conducting such medical financial investments could the stabilities of societies be ensured.

Despite the importance of funding medical researches, allotting financial resources to conserve the environment is of paramount essence to human race. The key argument here is that role of natural elements such as air, soil and water have an integral impact on humans’ health. For instance, the dire consequences of air pollution from factories would result immediately in individuals’ health, which could cause diseases like pneumonia or asthma. Therefore, it is vital that resources should be allocated to install high-tech air purifying systems or manufacture more hybrid vehicles. In addition, ecology including wildlife and plant habitats helps boost the nature sustainability, hence, the conservation of fauna and flora needs to receive financial support from the government particularly in those areas where landfill sites are significantly contaminating, which comes at the expense of biodiversity. This, according to this theory, might have a stultifying effect on citizens’ well-being.

In conclusion, while there are justifications to prove that giving money to medical studies is a prudent investment, I believe the environment preservation should receive the same funding and attention from the government.