In many parts of the world, a large proportion of income is generated through touristry. While this trend might be adverse to some extent, it, in numerous cases, would be a beneficial tendency.

First, tourism creates employment in services such as accommodation, transport, and entertainment. This leads to a decrease in the unemployment rate. Thanks to such services, inhabitants in my hometown, who used to constitute unemployed, now could make and meet a better income. Moreover, the tourist industry also plays a critical role in attracting investment from multinational companies and wealthy foreign investors which could boost local economies and improve infrastructure.

Admittedly, the travel industry might constitute one of the contributors to environmental contamination. When it comes to this, Viet Nam, a country located in Southeast Asia would be a good case in point. According to statistics in 2019 from the Ministry of Natural Resources and Environment of this country, the estimated amount of plastic waste discharged by tourists to sea and island resorts amounted to more than 230 thousand tons. However, this could be improved by the intervention of local authorities and local residents. They could post more guards around tourist destinations to prevent the indiscriminate dumping of garbage. Another negative influence is that tourism may put pressure on infrastructure and local resources such as food, water, and energy which results from overcrowding. In fact, a significant amount of historical buildings were damaged due to a large number of tourists flooding but this could be dealt with by increasing the entry fees or restricting the number of tourists in such places.

To recapitulate, although travel has some downsides, it does not overshadow the positive impact on the locals. I believe the growth of this industry would be a favorable tendency.