These days, investing in roads and motorways instead of public transport systems is a common idea for numerous citizens. This option, in many cases, should be more detrimental. To prove this, the reasons are described in the next paragraphs.

Firstly, using public transportation can lessen pollution. The usual representatives of this transportation mode are subways and buses. In fact, by switching from personal vehicles to underground or buses, the number of automobiles operating on roads reduces significantly. This not only leads to a decrease in the amount of emission into the atmosphere and then improves air quality but also reduces the consumption of fossil fuels, which of course is very limited now. Furthermore, using public vehicles is more affordable. The main reason is buses and subways are great choices for people who do not have private vehicles such as motorbikes or cars. For instance, Hue- a city in Viet Nam, allows students to board buses for just 5,000 dongs, regardless of their destination.

Secondly, More space for a huge amount of vehicles, which relieves strain on the city's main roadways, is another reason to promote the expansion of public transportation. In other words, buses and trains can carry a large number of passengers, which helps ease significantly traffic congestion rates during rush hours. For example, according to World Transportation surveys, 30% of workers reach their workplaces on time by using buses.

By way of conclusion, to improve people's lives, funding must be allocated to mass transit, even if the construction and maintenance of roads or lanes for motor vehicles are vital.