It is neither possible nor useful for a country to provide university places for a high proportion of young people. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people argue that the accessibility of tertiary education to almost all young adults has no practical values. Personally, I completely agree with this view.

Admittedly, there are good reasons to say that widespread entry into university does not seem really useful. The key argument here is that this will produce an ineffective education system. College or university undergraduates are supposed to focus on only one major field, gain experiences and take internships, but too many of them specialize in one field will lower the scope for jobs when they graduate. This is the cause for labor saturation as the more youngsters enroll in universities, the higher the unemployment rate. Take, for example, many cases in Vietnam where students graduated with a bachelor's degree but ended up being unemployed. This is such a waste of human resources, which will consequently restrain the country's economic growth.

To add further credence to my assertion, it is also unfeasible to provide tertiary education for a large number of young people. In some financially independent universities such as Foreign Trade University, students might not afford to pay for the exorbitant tuition fee. Even if it's free, the government will be in a dilemma of whether they should allocate the money for free tuition fee or other crucial social fields such as healthcare system and quality of life. Furthermore, universities are unable to provide decent facilities for a large number of students on campus. This will decrease the general academic quality of the nation.

In conclusion, for the reasons I have mentioned above, I strongly believe that increasing the rate of young undergraduates is not only fruitless but also unattainable.