It is neither possible nor useful to provide university places for a high proportion of young children. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The importance of formal qualification from tertiary education has been a source of major controversy in the general public. However, it is believed that access to higher education is both impossible and useless for teenagers. From my perspective, I completely side with the aforementioned viewpoint for its infeasibility and inefficiency.

What makes university education so impractical is the authority’s inability to provide sufficient infrastructure to learners. To be more specific, in today’s world of population explosion, it is almost absurd to support all youngsters with basic studying necessities, since the Government also needs to address other national issues such as the healthcare system, country’s economic development,... as well. In 2019, research conducted in Burundi, which is an exceedingly poverty-stricken country, has shown that despite numerous educational reform and policies, almost 80% of inhabitants are still unfortunately illiterate. To sum up, it proves impossible for a country to provide entry to tertiary education for all youngsters.

What is more, it is useless for a country to accommodate the youth with higher education. If all adolescents were equipped with sufficient knowledge and practical skills, they would obviously choose professional career paths. As a result, blue-collar workers’ positions would be left empty, leading to an imbalanced workforce in the economic system. There holds an opinion that in today’s world of knowledge-based society, it would be extremely unfair for children coming from the lower class who have no access to further education. However, it can somehow be tackled with the emergence of vocational training schools that are available in numerous countries with institution fees subsidised and sometimes free of charge. In summary, it is pointless supplying children access to education.

To conclude, it is reasonable that providing tertiary education slots for a massive number of youngsters is not only impractical but also helpless. Resultantly, I totally side with this notion.