It is now possible for scientists and tourists to travel to remote natural environments, such as the South pole. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In this day and age, more and more contemporary attention has been placed on the opinion that scientists can go to far-off natural places, like the South Pole. From my perspective, this issue brings more restrictions than benefits.

First of all, despite expanding knowledge about far natural environments, it is undeniable that people can lose their lives through traveling to remote natural environments. In fact, their lifespan can be reduced by the dangers of those places if they are unlikely to prepare full equipment and essential objects because they are unable to face extreme weather and wild animals in this destination without the necessary equipment. For example, according to BBC News, there were fifty-five people who lost their lives and went missing distant natural areas because they were attacked by wild animals in the South Pole in 2010.

Secondly, researchers can feel exhausted through going on this journey. To be more specific, they can be tired because they have to sit in one seat on public transport when they come to those destinations for a long time. Residents may be exhausted due to working there for a long period. Take my parents as an example, about 5 years ago, they took a trip to South Africa to discover lifestyle and weather conditions which are extremely useful to their reports, but after exploring this place for about 30 minutes, they feel tired due to not fully preparing food and equipment.

To conclude, due to the numerous mentioned reasons, it is my belief that this phenomenon has more disadvantages than advantages.