It is observed that in many countries not enough students are choosing to study science subjects.

What are causes ? And what will be effects on society ?

Over the past few years, we have seen an alarming decrease in the number of science students in universities and colleges. This trend happens due to some reasons as well as its adverse impacts on society.

There are two excuses why fewer university pupils are choosing science as their major. First of all, those subjects are usually difficult and challenging, which demands them to put outstanding effort and great intelligence into their study. The surveys show that the average biology students have to do many experiments and numerous projects with a higher level of complexness, which discourages them to select these subjects. Moreover, after graduation, job opportunities in this field of science are still more limited than other sectors. Hence, they have a trend towards choosing other subjects that let them find jobs less competitive.

The deficiency of leaners in science fields can bring some negative effects. The first impact is the imbalance in the future workforce. In contrast, a growing tendency for students choosing to study other subjects such as economics, business…etc, a number of science subjects are restricted. Therefore, the number of seniors with too with degrees of the same ability leads to unemployment due to the larger number of workers provided than social demands. Another problem is the lack of qualified types of equipment as well as low-skilled employees. Thus, it is necessary to solve this issue, so that society avoid facing human resource crisis.

In conclusion, some strict requirements and employment opportunities are one of the reasons why a lot of students not choosing science subjects to study, and this problem also brings some serious impacts.