The knowledge of maths is not important for most jobs nowadays. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The necessity for knowledge in mathematics for being successful at work is an issue that often divides opinions. As the world is slowly shifting to become a data-centric community, I strongly believe that the knowledge of mathematics has become a necessity for any job in the modern world, which has be supported through the forthcoming paragraphs.

Currently, the sector of information and technology has been in bloom, opening multiple employment opportunities, which are solely based on data interpretation and computer algorithms. Understanding these algorithms, which is the prime necessity of the jobs surrounding the field, requires a deeper understanding of mathematics linked to it. Moreover, maths is a prime requirement for any engineering fields, may it be civil, aeronautics, mechanical or chemical, which has been reported by Forbes to be the highest paying and most sought after careers in the world in 2022.

Apart from the jobs with a highly intensive mathematical requirements, careers in medicine, buisness or even clerical jobs, though thought to have no influence of maths, require a moderate understanding of the subject to carry through the daily activities at work. In a survey by New York Times, most people were reported to have a misconception that jobs in agriculture and forestry require no mathematical knowlege, while this isn’t the case in reality. From determining the correct proportion of pesticides per area to use, to the obtaining the agricultural feed to water ratio to be given to animals, knowledge of mathematics plays a vital role in these field as well.

In conclusion, as the world has shifted to be more data intensive, mathematics has become a prime requirement for most high paying job, including computer science and engineering, meanwhile the knowledge of the subject is more or less required for other career choices as well. Thus, I strongly disagree with the argument on maths not being important for most jobs in the current world.