Libraries should focus on improving their technological resources. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the usefulness of the modern technology, there is a significant decrease in the number of people who choose to read paper books in preference to using e-books. Therefore, it is suggested that libraries should put more investment in developing there technological resources rather than building a large pile of paper books. However, I totally disagree with this statement for 2 reasons.

At the outset, the essence of the libraries does not commensurate with the presence of high technology which is assumed to help people acquire more knowledge. Initially, it is obvious that there are a lot of valuable, useful books that are not available on the internet or other forms of technological advances. Furthermore, libraries are also considered as the most appropriate place to study. If there are more and more technological resources in this space, it is difficult for people to focus on their work when having to keep their mind on using these high-tech appliances. As a result, people will find this investment useless and a waste of money when putting a lot of resources to upgrade the technological devices in the libraries

Apart from that, the benefits of reading paper books undeniably outweigh those of utilizing technology. It is scientifically proven that when people read paper books, they will likely to remember the content much longer, contributing to boost the productivity of reading books dramatically. In addition to that, technology is the most probable factor distracting individuals from reading and exerting a negative impact on their work. According to a survey, when choosing e-books, most of people only read some first pages of the books as these devices will easily dispose them to be distracted. Not only does this not result in any positive outcome but it is also time-consuming and low-productive.

To recapitulate, I wholeheartedly disagree that there should be more efforts in enhancing the technological facilities in the libraries.