Living in big cities is bad for people s health To what extent do you agree or disagree

An increasing number of people are talking about the effects on people’s health of living in big cities. Some people believe that living in urban areas has a negative influence on our health while others might have different opinions. From my perspective, I agree that people living in downtown might be unhealthier.

Indifferent living environment would be the first and most primary reason. That is to say, there are a lot of people living in the cities, leading to a crowded and pressured living environment. With this living condition, residents of cities tend to feel anxious and depressed. For example, Taipei, the capital city of Taiwan, is a crowded place where many people go there for the abundant job opportunities. Even though people can get a job in Taipei easier than in other cities, they always feel anxious because of the fast pace of life. In the long run, they suffer from the depression and feel unhappy.

Some people might argue that there are more medical resources in cities. In other words, people’s health can be well-cared by hospitals. However, an important aspect is ignored in this argument. Indeed, many diseases can be healed (cured) by medicines, but some illnesses associated with mental problems, such as depression or anxiety, cannot be cured only by taking medicines. Those patients with mental problems need a less busy and more relaxing environment so that they can recover from the mental illnesses.

Based on these reasons, I believe that to live in a big city is not a good choice for people in terms of their health. The living quality is not as good as we think even though there are many medical resources.