Living in big cities is bad for people’s health. To what extent do you agree or disagree? "

It goes without saying that health problems in city life are one of the most serious issues facing us at the present time. While I agree that city residents have access to better medical services as well as fitness centre than rural areas, I do not think it is enough to compensate for the serious drawbacks of inhabitants.

On the one hand, it is obvious that living in a large city can bring some benefits to people’s health to some certain extent. City dwellers can easily access fitness facilities and recreational activities to improve their physical well-being and boost their mood, compared to the countryside. Moreover, the quality of facilities in rural areas paled in comparison with that of in a large metropolis, hence people living in the city can be assisted with better health facilities and innovative technologies that can help with diagnosing various diseases such as lung cancer, heart attack at an early stage and effectively treating them.

On the flip side, I am adamant that city life has put people at a higher risk of a variety of physical and mental health problems. First and foremost, pollutants include exhaust fumes from motor vehicles, emissions as well as coal ash from factories are the primary culprit that lead to a number of respiratory diseases such as lung cancer, asthma or bronchitis. In addition, noise from construction sites and transportation systems would result in noise pollution and this would have adverse impacts on people’s health. As for residents, for instance, if suffered from noise pollution for long time, they might not only decrease in vision, but they also affected health such as insomnia, mental decline or tired.

In conclusion, although I accept that city life gives people some benefits of fitness, recreation, I cannot deny the significant consequence that urban areas bring to a community's health.