Living in country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as
well as practical problems.
To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?
Speaking the foreign tongue of the country where one moves to always have its perks but but mostly
is disadvantages. I completely agree with this statement and in this essay I will talk about the social
as well as practical issues.
Moving to an international land where one has to learn the local language is always a task. The first
and foremost difficulty is to socialise with the regional people. No matter how much you master the
tongue, for some reason most of them always end up in a club filled with own kind. In few of these
cases people mostly throw a welcome party or a dinner to invite and know their neighbours or
acquaintances well. But there is always a feeling of being aloof from others. This is due the
unfamiliarity of their culture and in few cases such as sacred Hindu temples, foreigners are forbidden
no matter how well they know the language.
There are a number of practical issues as well, like public transport where you have to learn the
colloquial terms to get the ticket faster. As per research most of the people living away from their
mother land face issues with their household chores due to language barrier on a day to day basis.
The main issues is during emergencies where one has to fill the forms or talk to the doctors
describing their concerns and problems.
Therefore one can conclude that speaking in a foreign language mostly has its downhill. The solution
for this could be learning the language with its slang and educating the rural people to accept
foreigners with open arms.