Sometimes people have to live in a country that requires them to speak nonnative language. Some people opine that this may cause significant problems in social and practical matters. I completely agree with this view because of several reasons.

Firstly, the reason why speaking in foreign language will create social problem because language serves as a communication bridge between people. In communication, whether it is a long or short conversation, people use language to convey what they want to say. As a result, someone who does not understand the language that most people use will most likely to be isolated from any social circle. This can happen everywhere, from neighborhood to working places. For example, a guy from United States just moved to Japan, where most people are speaking Japanese, including in his neighborhood. Because he does not really master Japanese, he can not blend in with his social circle in his neighborhood.

Secondly, the reason why speaking foreign language can cause practical problem is because language is inseparable from doing daily activities. This can be purchasing public transportation tickets, ordering food menu, to using public facilities. All of these activities require understanding foreign language. Hence, if one does not understand the language that is mainly used, he will face practical problem where his daily activities are hampered. For instance, a guy from United Kingdom just migrated to Taiwan, where almost all food menus are written in Mandarin Chinese. Because he does not really master Mandarin Chinese, he then finds difficulty in ordering menu.

In conclusion, I completely agree that settling in a country which requires us to speak foreign language will cause both significant practical and social problems because language serves as a communication bridge between people and language is inseparable from doing daily activities.