Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems

Moving to another country can be quite challenging. Probably you'll have to face a new culture, a new lifestyle and build new friendships. But all of that can be even tougher when you have to do it using a language different from your own. Sometimes the difficulty to make yourself well understood could impact negatively your chances of getting a good Job, a good place at school, and even socialize.

First of all, speaking a foreign tongue could delay your professional development. Communicative skills are essential to every job, therefore, if a person doesn't have enough domain of the new idiom, his boss would think it twice before giving him a promotion, even when he actually has the technical capability to perform the job. I've experienced it myself. Currently, I'm a well-qualified physician who arrived in London from a Spanish speaking country, however, nobody will hire me until I prove my proficiency in English. Just one communicational mistake could lead to bad consequences.

From the social point of view, being a non-native speaker can wake up prejudice in some close-minded societies. Despite a person learns the language, it's very likely that some kind of accent will stick with him for life, and that would snitch him as a foreigner. This could be a problem when it comes to communities which relate some kind of accents with misbehaviour. For example, in developed nations, latin-american migrants are thought to be prone to commit robbery. hence, for a latin-american English speaker to gain an Englishman's trust

In summary, speaking a foreign language can be disadvantageous because it could delay the fit-in process of a migrant person. Nevertheless, Nothing is impossible, and the better you master this new language, the more opportunities will come up to make your way up professionally and socially.