Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems.To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is believed that language is a tremendous barrier of social and practical matters for people who intend to relocate or study in a foreign country. I definitely agree with this view.

To begin with, the non-native speakers encounter obstructions to enlarge their knowledge about culture, traditions and customs in foreign environment because they have a difficulty in communication with inhabitants. Thus, individuals tend to seclude themselves from community in which they cannot understand the conversations or express ideas due to lingual incompetence. For instance, in my country, for preparation of Annual Mid-Autumn Festival, families in neighborhood often gather together to discuss about decorating the walls, making cakes and lanterns for children. Therefore, you may feel to be uncomfortable and frustrated if you do not assimilate all that you hear or speak fluently and confidently to contribute your notion.

Besides the social issues, practical problems would be challenging for people who are pursuing the academic qualification or looking for employment in different language. For example, the international students would struggle for making presentations, writing dissertations and understanding lectures. Consequently, they would have enormous gaps about knowledge with others and gradually lose their motivations to gain high grades in exams. Moreover, job hunting is a difficulty for persons in foreign country. They would have in trouble to appreciate absolutely job description and be very nervous to tackle the professional questions during interview. Thus, the language skills are attributed to be detrimental for harvesting an appropriate employment.

In conclusion, people who are living in different country have significant hurdle with a certain language level to communicate efficiently and fluently. Without proper lingual skills, people will completely confront some social and practical problems.