Living in a country you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems.

Living abroad can be significantly challenging socially and practically because of the different language use. Despite the opposing view, I strongly agree with this argument that incompetence in foreign language can bring about misunderstandings and difficulties.

I believe that language and culture are closely linked to each other. One example is that, in the western society, asking people about their age at the first meeting can be thought as being rude. However, this seems to be quite common in Asian culture. As a result, Asian people in the western society can be in trouble in social relationship. In addition, language barrier can have a negative impact on practical situations, such as getting a job in a foreign country. As most employers want to hire people who have good communicative skills. These are highly crucial issues when it comes to life in a foreign country since they can eventually end up social isolation.

On the other hand, it can be supposed that low foreign language ability does not necessarily lead to demanding time in a foreign country. This is because minor mistakes stemmed from cultural differences can be understood. For instance, foreigners who live in Korea sometimes do not use the honorific to the elderly, but this is not thought as serious issues because it is not intended. Moreover, language barrier in practical aspects such as seeking employment can be alleviated by choosing manual occupations that do not require advanced language skills.

In conclusion, it is clear that most people living overseas encounter challenging time socially and practically, although language barrier and cultural gap can be overcome depending on situations.