A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not managed correctly.

Describe the advantages and disadvantages of tourism in the modern world. Do you think that benefits of tourism outweight its drawbacks?

These days some people assert that tourism generates a significant amount of income for many countries. On the other hand, others are of the opinion that tourism could lead to a negative impact on the historical places. From my perspective, I agree, to some extent that tourism brings benefits to country, but also have certain drawbacks which must be addressed accordingly.

To begin with, it is quite apparent to say that tourism have myriad of advantages. It can support the country economy and also help local people to earn money. One illustration of this is that the tourist spends money on number of service, like travelling, amusement, hotel and medicines, in this way tourism is responsible for influx of cash in a country. Another advantage seems to be that the local people lives near places of interest can earn handsome amount of money by working as a local guiders and providing tourist with basic facilities.

To put the issue into perspective, another most important point which is worth considering is that the image of developing countries, could improve when people from outside the world interact with local people. An example that can be put forward is that the country like Brazil which live in civil war, have high rate of poverty, disease, unemployment, corrupt administration lead to immense embracement. But this image could be improved by positive exhibition of their friendly culture and lifestyle of people.

Despite the above argument, yet there is negative side of the picture, which advocates the tourism could exploit the natural resources, monument, temples, and other places of interest. Increasing in the number of could destroy the originality of historical places. Furthermore, we should not lose sight of this fact that presence of tourist also attracts thief and smugglers. This could be the burden on government to take some measures in order to cater such situation.

To recapitulate, It is indeed a debatable issue which needs further analysis and discussion. However, in the light of above discussed arguments and examples, it would be quite safe to conclude that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages