A lot of places in the world rely in tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not managed correctly

Nowadays, some countries around the world depend on the sector of tourism as one of its primary source of income for the local people. Although this is beneficial to lessen their financial burden, sometimes this creates a negative impact on the environment and the community may suffer if natural resources are overexploited.

The two main advantages of the developed tourism industry is a boost in the local and national economy and creating more job opportunities for the local people. Firstly, tourists spend money on a wide range of services, including hotel, transportation, amusements, and food. This way, tourism yields an additional income greatly supporting the country's economy. Secondly, it increases job opportunities for the locals. For instance, the influx of tourists results in larger demand in restaurant workers, tour guides, hotel staff, exhorting business owners to hire more individuals for these positions.

Tourism also has some major disadvantages like the disruption of natural habitat and accelerated pollution. Pristine islands that are not popular yet are promoted as a tourist spot in different platforms like social media and other websites so that tourist will be enticed to visit the place. In order for the place to be presentable and breathtaking, the local government beautifies and redevelop the area by building structures to make their stay comfortable. Hence, trees and plants are cut and some wild animals are eradicated or transferred to animal shelter. Moreover, a large number of tourists can cause environmental problems due to accumulated tons of garbage that they throw in famous places and beaches. The foul smell from this rubbish would permeate in the air and to bodies of water, thus affecting the other living organism that could lead to ecological catastrophes. However, proper hospitality management, saving natural resources and correct usage of tourism revenue by the government can eliminate these disadvantages.

To conclude, although tourism has certain disadvantages like destructive effects in the environment, it has an extremely positive impact on country’s economy and provides an additional jobs for the people. I believe that these benefits of tourism outweigh its drawbacks.