Maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since computer technology can replace their functions. Do you agree or disagree?

In the technology era, people could easily access a great deal of information on the internet more effectively. Thus, it is argued that money is being wasted on keeping public libraries working. However, I disagree with this idea because public libraries are not only places where book stored, they are offering what computer lacking: accurate sources of information and economic values.

Firstly, it is crucial to keep in mind that public libraries provide people with a suitable environment for studying and research, where there are absolute silence, peace and scholarly atmosphere. Clearly, computers are unable to offer. For example, according to a study published by Stanford University last year, despite the computer technology of development, U.S and Canadian libraries saw a steady increase in visits over a 10 years period with 75% of the visitors being high school and college students, showing that a large population is still fond of studying in public libraries.

Secondly, public ancient libraries act as tourist attractions, which gives many countries a boost in their economy. Every year, public libraries around the world are reported that be one of the most popular tourist destinations. For instance, the U.K is renowned not only for the Big Ben or the River Thames but also for the Bodleian public library. Featuring distinctive English Gothic architectural characteristics and a history dating back to the 15th century, the Bodleian public library contributes greatly to the UK economy through tourism activities.

In conclusion, despite using computer technology more effective, nevertheless, I believe that public libraries carry significant benefits such as supplying an appropriate study environment and developing the tourism industry, which can not be replaced by the computers.