Maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since computer technology can replace their functions. Do u agree or disagree?

Some people hold the view that with technological development, computers can take the place of public libraries. While I agree that online sources bring various merits for people, I believe that it is still worth spending money on maintaining reading rooms.

On the one hand, there are two main advantages of online information. Initially, online sources can store a huge amount of information which is more convenient than any physical libraries. This also allows researchers to easily get the information they need without taking time to come to local libraries. In addition, people can look for data on the internet whenever they want. This is therefore especially beneficial to those who have a hectic schedule and can not visit public libraries during the operating time.

On the other hand, the preservation of reading rooms is necessary because of their distinguishing features that can not be substituted by computers. Libraries, in numerous countries, are still one of the most means of accessing information, particularly for senior citizens. In fact, most elderly people these days are technophobes so local libraries are their preferred option. Furthermore, public libraries are considered a more reliable source of information compared with online sources. Indeed, there is an abundance of inaccurate and unreliable information on the internet, while the information from libraries is more reliable and carefully categorized by library staff members.

In conclusion, although computer technology has its own benefits in providing information, I believe that preserving public libraries is necessary.