Maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since computer technology can replace their functions. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Public libraries keep a huge of variety books and subjects in many years and also, it is a suitable place for people who want to have quiet place to study and read books. Therefore, maintaining public libraries does not waste money. However, nowadays, computer technology is developing so public libraries should improve more modern technology to attract more readers.

Public libraries are good places for students who want to have space to focus on study. Also, there are many kinds of books related to many majors which people can reach and use for their study or their research. Furthermore, public libraries help people save time in finding the titles of books because the staff of library will help them. In my country, people have to pay fee for public libraries if they want visit them frequently so public libraries can use this fee to maintain. Widening knowledge for people and support to people in study and learning are not waste of money.

However, computer technology is very developing these days. It can replace some functions of public libraries. People can easy to search information on the internet. Also, people can find variety of online books or articles on many networking sites by using computers. However, the information on the internet is not original, we do not know which are correct or which are incorrect so the computer technology users need to have knowledge to find the exact information.

On the other hand, when people use public libraries, they can believe the information from books are original and exact. There is one thing that public libraries should improve technology and set up variety of websites so the reader can easy to find information that they need.

In conclusion, I believe that public libraries are good places for people especially students who want to widen their knowledge and for learning purpose. However, public libraries need to be improved by using technology to support readers, students in study or reading. Therefore, it is not only not waste of money to maintain but also can upgrade the public libraries to expand services.