The majority of news being reported is bad news such as wars, famines, accidents and crime. Why do you think that is? Do you think the news should be a balance of both good and bad news?

In this day and age, an increasing amount of public news being considered detrimental has been a controversial issue. In my opinion, there would be some reasons for this and mixing both positive and negative news should be a good solution for this problem.

To commence with, there are a number of reasons leading the negative news to be selected to report, The first reason would be reporting on bad issues informs about potential dangers that often have significant effects on the population. Since these issues helps to raise citizens’ awareness, they could be welcomed widely. A typical example of this would be last month, thanks to the news about a disease case of “bach hau” leading to the death of a female, Vietnamese residents have became more careful in getting avoid of suffering this dangerous disease. An another reason is that many media outlets want to have higher ratings and viewership to gain increased advertising revenue. Therefore, by publicing bad news, they could attract a large number of readers and reach their business goals.

In addition to the above analysis, I believe that a balance of positive and negative news should be done in producing news. This is because reporting both good and bas news could provide a more accurate and comprehensive view of the world, which helps the readers to improve their knowledge on every side of lives. VNExpress, for example, is known as the most renowned online new page because of posting many necessary news, with both bad and good ones, for Vietnamese people to take in the information. As a result, since having a wide knowledge, each individuals would have a general view about things occurred in over the world.

In conclusion, there are many causes of the widespread bad news and I am of the opinion that news should be a balance of both positive and negative ones.