Many children are encouraged by their parents to get a part time job in their free time.

What are the advantages and disadvantages to children of doing so.

Nowadays many parents boost their adoloscents to utilize their leisure time to do part time jobs while this trend has many positive aspects in child's development, it has it's drawbacks as well. This essay will discuss both the merits and demerits of motivating teenagers towards part time jobs.

Firstly, working aprt time will help develop child's personality into various dynamics, such as confidence, polished communication skills and realization of the outside world realities. They get to understand the importance of hardwork and money. Moreover, they realize how their parents have worked hard to nurture them and fulfill their demands which enables them to appreciate and respect the efforts their parents have put in.

Furthermore, working part time changes child's attitude towards life. It fills him/her with feeling of achievement and self confidence. They understand the importance of caring and sharing, teamwork with peers. Thus, it gives them a taste of future life and helps them to organise their life in a disciplined manner. Also, it keeps the child motivated to focus on future goals towards a successful life rather than getting distracted towards the negative influences around them.

However, there are negative aspects which should be considered. In this competitive world children are under constant pressure of parents, peer and teacher. If they are forced to work in their free time, it will affect the mental and physical development of the child. It will deter them from the opportunities to interact with the friends of their age. The fact they earn money can also lead them to spend it on anti-social activities such as smoking and alcohol.

In conclusion, even though doing part time jobs is beneficial for nurturing children with the qualities like co-operation, confidence, independence and courage to face real situations in life, the pressure can have negative impact on child's mental health. They are the tender buds of the society and they should be taken care off.