Many children have trouble paying attention in class at some point in their academic study. When this happens, especially with young learners, it leaves parents concerned about why their children cannot focus. In many cases, the concentration issues children have in school can be caused by a number of reasons.

Firstly, external stimuli in the classroom distract students from focusing on study. The classroom can be a place full of distractions, from chatty classmates to a cluttered workstation. Some children have a harder time than others filtering out these distractions making paying attention to teacher more challenging.Moreover, young child’s concentration problem may actually be a motivation problem. For some children, what is being taught in class is not challenging or interesting enough. Children who are not challenged at a high enough level do not consider what they learn in class is practical can lose interest in the material and stop paying attention together. Thus, lack of learning motivation discourages learners from being involved in class.

To deal with children’s concentration problem, the improvement of teaching is of necessity. Most children are able to concentrate on activities that are fun and intrinsically enjoyable. It is the ones that are more boring, difficult or just less enjoyable that really challenge their focus. So, teachers need to arrange classroom activities and choose teaching materials based on what learners are in favor of, for example, using characters in cartoons in the class targeting young learners. In addition, the intervention of governments can also make a difference. In Britain, secondary schools are introducing strict bans on mobile phones where all pupils aged up to 16 have to lock them away for the entire day after evidence that it makes children more concentrated, alert and active in class.