In many cities, there is little control on the design and construction of new houses, so people can choose to build houses in their own styles instead of building them with the same style as the old houses in the local area. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is emerged that there are more and more people having their houses built in their own styles because of the lack of the government's control. From my perspective, I totally advocate this statement.

The advantages brought about by the diversity in housing styles are worthy of consideration. First of all, houses with their own styles and construction can make the city much more colorful and glorious that can attract a lot of people to visit. Moreover, they can also reflect their owners' personality and cultures, which gives them pleasure when living. In fact, nowadays, in big cities like Hanoi, there is a large number of contemporary buildings which are designed in both European and Asian styles such as Hanoi Opera House, National History Museum and many more. Therefore, the proportion of visitors, especially foreigners are creeping up substantially, giving a huge amount of profit to the local residents.

The second is that the freedom of choice in housing styles can bring owners many financial benefits. They can comfortably erect, design and find out which material is appropriate to their budgets rather than imitate the styles of others. For example, it will absolutely leave the owners a serious repercussion if they have to mimic the construction of other buildings or houses which are built with expensive building materials or in too elaborate design.

In conclusion, a diversity in architectural styles should be widely embraced because of the advantages it brings.