In many cities the use of video cameras in public places is being increased in order to reduce crime, but some people believe that these measures restrict our individual freedom.

Do the benefits of increased security outweigh the drawbacks?

In recent years, surveillance cameras have become ubiquitous in numerous cities across the globe to combat the increasing crime rate. In my opinion, although this might bring several minor privacy issues, it is a net positive approach.

The unfavourable aspects of this increased security relate to individual freedom and privacy. First, these devices can be intrusive when all activities are constantly being monitored. Whether people are on the street or in a shopping mall, their faces and movements are all captured and sent to the authorities or private security firms. What is more, in some cases, this can cause annoying problems to the people being filmed if their images are exploited by unprofessional and disrespectful security guards or staff. For instance, there have been some short clips extracted from CCTV videos unexpectedly posted on social media like Facebook without any permission to attract more viewers or comments.

Nonetheless, the above inconveniences are insignificant and video surveillance certainly plays a crucial role in crime prevention in major cities. First of all, the proliferation of CCTV cameras can help prevent petty crimes such as bag-snatching or pickpocketing, some of the most irritating experiences when going out. However, with the awareness that the places are being filmed, criminals and would-be criminals would probably give up their illegal actions, hence a lower crime rate in these areas. Another positive effect would be that CCTV footage is one of the most useful pieces of evidence to catch and prosecute offenders. In various crime cases, the police have been successfully identified and imprisoned many lawbreakers with the help of surveillance videos and images.

In conclusion, the popularity of CCTV cameras has definitely brought out several merits and demerits to individuals and also society. However, I firmly approve of this development because of its positive impacts on public security and therefore, as residents of a city, we are supposed to accept these minus inconveniences to improve our safety.