In many cities, the use of video cameras in public places is being increased in order to reduce crime, but these measures restrict our individual freedom.

Do the benefits of increased security outweigh the drawbacks?

Since time immemorial, criminal activities are a ubiquitous phenomenon. It is being said that Close Circuit Televisions Cameras are being installed every nook and corner of the cities to deter crime, nevertheless, is has robbed the masses of their Liberty. This essay will articulate the strengths of this security that surpass its demerit in the subsequent paragraphs.

The predominant benefit is the proliferated safety along with the reduction in illegal activities that makes the life vulnerable of individuals. That is to say, if CCTVs are placed in almost all streets, intersections and crossroads, then citizens can freely move around even at night. Hence, it facilitates the life of urbanites.

Another pro is for the jurisdiction as CCTVs assist them to catch the lawbreakers, even though they have committed offence either a day ago or a year ago. In other words, multifarious offenders consider themselves not only smart enough but also as feels their freedom as their achievement when they roam around freely after indulging into crime. Ergo, owing to these security systems, they can be caught at any interval of their live.

On the paradoxical side, as every cloud has a silver lining, so does the safety systems. What is more, massas usually feel under surveillance all the time and this paves the way to snatch them their right to Liberty. A case in point, couple cannot feels comfortable in public places since cameras are their which monitor them. Owing to this, they may feel hesitate to hold each other hands.

To recapitulate, after analysing and evaluating aforementioned merits and drawback, it is axiomatic that no doubt the assistance of CCTVs has curtailed the freedom, yet the protection and decline in number of criminals would be efficacious down the road.