Many companies invest their money in sports games for advertisement purposes. Some people think it is good for the sports world, while others believe that it has some disadvantages. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The trend towards allocating resources to advertisement in sport industry is gaining popularity in the business world. Notwithstanding the commercial benefits for economic entities and financial advantages for sport games organizers, I contend that this is partially a negative development and directly affects the purity of sports.

For one thing, the heavy investment from private organizations has eliminated many financial constraints for the match creators in many aspects. Specialized sports equipment such as sportgears and sportswear are now sponsored by private sectors, who could also be actively involved in upgrading sport amenities such as stadiums. This could offer the spectators a sense of satisfaction while immersing in the sporting spirits of live matches with comfortable seats and fulfilled services from snacks bars to souvenir shops. Label in billboards around the arenas or product placement such as on players' uniforms could instill in the viewers the brand’s name, which is beneficial to the businesses’ reputation during market expansion. The co-operations bring about tremendous financial merits for both sides, not to mention the spectators' joy and pleasure.

For another, I still hold the view that mass collaborations with individual companies could entail a reduction in focus on the actual sport. The inherent intangible purposes of traditional sports games are aimed at players’ happiness when reaching the pinnacle of sports and cultivating the spirit of teamwork or competitive attitudes towards others. However, the rapid commercialization has turned matches and events into opportunities to advertise products and promote brand awareness. Viewers’ experiences are now disturbed with brightful players’ jerseys or advertisement bombardments by numerous posters around the stadium. Players are also profit driven when celebrity endorsement is a lucrative industry for them and also an opportunity to enhance their images. Conversely, this could affect their sporting spirit and their professionalism in the matches comparing the salary of a sportsman with an illustrious star and result in poor quality games for viewers.

To conclude, regardless of the financial benefits for the organizers, I believe the true value of sports could be threatened by commercialization. There should be a limit on advertising in order to maintain the spirit of sports to raise public awareness of keeping fit via sporting activities.