In many countries around the world, life expectancy is increasing. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this situation and give your own opinion.

Write at least 250 words.

With the aid of medical technologies, longevity is becoming a common phenomenon in several parts of the world. However, I would contend that the merits of this development are outweighed by its drawbacks.

On the one hand, the increase in the length of life offers some considerable benefits. First of all, elderly people would have more time to be active, useful and fulfill their desire. After retiring, those people could travel to many new destinations and pursue their hobbies that were impossible while working and bringing up their family. Moreover, older employees have various skills to pass on to their younger counterparts. For instance, throughout a specific internship of a company, trainees are always guided and provided with useful tips by their senior employees.

However, I believe the positive aspects of this trend are eclipsed by more detrimental impacts on society. One of the major challenges of that phenomenon is the problem of overpopulation. Consequently, there may be a large lack of accommodation, food, energy to afford the demand of that number of people which leads to more problems namely the poverty problem, the problem of crime, and so on. In addition to that, the more people live, the more likely they have to suffer from various chronic health problems such as high blood pressure, diabetes, and heart attack. As a consequence, that would place an increasing burden on health systems and a heavy pressure on health and social care. For example, if a nursing home cannot afford places and services for all the people in need, that health center could receive a lot of bad feedback which could make it difficult to continue their business.

In conclusion, as great as the thought of living longer may sound, I believe there are many disadvantages to those who genuinely do so.