In many countries, children are becoming overweight and unhealthy. Some people think that the government should have the responsibility. what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recent decades have witnessed the prevalence of obesity in the young generation, raising many questions of its impacts on their health. Although the proposal of governments’ liability for this epidemic sounds legitimate, it is actually the mutual responsibility of the authorities and citizens themselves.

On the one hand, it should be acknowledged that government should be responsible for this health problem. The local government should enact the legislation of monetary fine on any food processing companies with the intent of producing convenience food. These products are invariably associated with the excessive fat content, making consumers especially children more susceptible to obesity.

On the other hand, there are many reasons why it is highly recommended that parents and children themselves be responsible for their obesity. First, children should abandon their sedentary lifestyle and take up some sports exercises on a regular basis. This is proved to act as a deterrent for the excessive fat accumulation and promote the blood circulation and metabolism process, improving their health status. Second, parents should organize the scientific dietary plans balancing the intake of different nutrients. For example, a meal with sufficient vegetables and seeds would not only supply the basic nutrient elements for the development of young individuals, thereby reducing their fat consumption.

In conclusion, I partially disagree with the view that government should have the responsibility. In fact, it demands much effort from both official authorities and young people themselves to curb this obesity epidemic through the prohibition of fat food, better lifestyle and more nutrient dietary plans.