In many countries imprisonment is the most common solution to crimes However some people believe that better education will be a more effective solution To what extent do you agree or disagree

People have different views about whether criminals should be punished in prison or receive education to change. While I accept that imprisonment is an optimal measure, I still believe that education is more appropriate.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that prisoner detention can decrease illegal activities. First of all, keeping offenders in jail can make residents, who are living in that place, feel safe. That is to say, prison isolates lawbreakers from the rest of the world, therefore, citizens do not have to worry about theft or crime from people like property offences. Furthermore, staying behind bars for a long time probably makes some convicted criminals feel terrified. It means that if they have to live with other prisoners in a cramped room, this may weaken their mental health and then maybe they won't have the courage to commit a new crime. For example, Hai “Banh”, who has been imprisoned for more than 22 years for his involvement in the murder case, has completely changed and become a law-abiding member of society.

With any problem; however, the most effective way to handle it is attacking the root. It is a truth that incarceration can only keep offenders in restraint for their sentence time, then lots of them do not feel guilty and still want to pose a threat to the community. Therefore, the best way to handle this problem is reformation to make such criminals understand why they should conform to the law. And when awareness is raised; obviously, the crime rate would be diminished. Moreover, this is especially true with teenagers who are usually under the pressure and tend to be rebellious. To put it in a nutshell, suitable education at school can deter students who are about to go out into society from committing the offence.

In conclusion, although imprisonment is quite effective, in my opinion, education is a better method when it can solve the root of the criminal problem.