Many residents have sparked off an argument over imprisonment, in which it is believed to be less efficient than education in tackling crimes. While I accept that an improvement in education is advantageous, I opine that a prison sentence also exert similar positive influences on preserving social tranquility.

On the one hand, a pedagogical approach plays a pivotal role in eradicating evils because of two major reasons. Firstly, only by education will moral and cultural values be instilled into learners’ mind. Therefore, this is expected to shape their patterns of behavior and create dignified citizens, who can embrace social fabrics, as well as fight against any criminal behavior. Secondly, education, which integrates regulations and legal terms into curricula, is believed to enhance social members’ abilities to act within the law. Indeed, no sooner are people sufficiently provided with such knowledge, which helps them fully aware of illegal manipulations and their consequences, than they become more likely to prevent themselves from turning into crimes.

On the other hand, benefits brought about by imprisonment should not be underestimated. Indeed, serving a prison sentence, offenders will receive a harsh corporal punishment, and this may leave an indelible impression that crimes are treated by the full weight of the law. In fact, a recent study conducted among British juvenile delinquents, 80% of total population reported that a rigorous experience in prison necessitates them being law-abiding citizens. In other words, it was such custodial sentences that can make offenders see the error of their way, and deter them from perpetuating evils. In contrast, if a society devoid of imprisonment is established, this may not only result in obstacle to maintaining the policy of zero tolerance, but also cause a lack of significant strategies for punishing wrongdoers.

In brief, while not disavowing the advantages reaped from education, it seems to me that imprisonment is also essential in solving crime challenges.