In many countries, more and more people choose to buy imported food rather than food produced
locally. Why people buy imported food? What could be done to encourage people to buy local food?
It is suggested that nowadays, foreign food would be a preferable option for citizens in almost nation
rather than domestic ones. From my point of view, there are two justifiable explanations as follow for
this tendency and the government should take some actions to reduce the quantity of overseas product
consumption.
To commence with, the quality of overseas food and the augmentation in citizens’ demands are
motivating the less favor for local products. Obviously, in emerging nations where the food resources
are not censored strictly, there is no assurance about the cleanness and safety and actually the
inhabitants would opt for overseas material being manufactured structurally and checked prior to
importing. To exemplify this case, in Vietnam, the citizens spray grow-up chemicals on the vegetables
to reap in the shortest time, resulting in the high content of noxious ingredient in the products and the
customers are attempting to seek for China or Thailand alternatives with more confidence in quality.
Furthermore, that some sorts of food are solely availability in distinct regions compelling the increase
in imported ones to satisfy the citizens’ needs for abundant dishes for each meal.
To address this issue, imposing some strict regulations would be an efficient measure. Firstly, the
authority should strengthen the number of police to supervise the manufacturing process of food to
prevent actions poisoning the products as well as penalize some offenders to raise the overall
awareness of sellers. As a result, the quality of food would be ensured and the citizens would gain
more confidence in purchasing domestic resources. Secondly, levying high taxes on imported
products would require the citizens to pay more to obtain foreign food, which means they may have to
select local food as an affordable choice.
With the mentioned statements, I reaffirm that the conception of inhabitants about quality of overseas
products and the increase in demand would contribute to the high consumption of imported food. To
the governments, applying laws would be an effective method to encourage the use of domestic
products.