In many countries, more and more people have to travel long distances to work every day. Why is this case? What can be done to solve this problem?

Nowadays, there is an increasing number of people to travel unbelievably long distances to commute each day. In fact, to take Hong Kong as an example, there are even some workers who have to fly in and out from Taiwan or Shanghai to daily work every day. In my opinion, various factors contribute to this issue and some measures should be taken to keep the balance between work and personal life.

As we are living in a very capitalistic society, the fiercely competitive environment will motivate employees to pursue their chosen career and to earn a decent income that supports their modern lifestyle. Many will place the emphasis on money, prestige and more material goods rather than care about other essential factors such as their health and social connections. Therefore, in order to afford the cost of living more and more people have to make a long-distance journey to work and also suffer the accompanying stress-related health issues. Over time, the adverse consequence will appear, such as negative impacts upon personal relationships and inefficient performance at work.

In order to avoid this adverse situation and meet the requirements of people’s dream, many companies, especially that Information Technology, computers and others which have a low demand of workplace, have become more open to accepting flexible working patterns which might allow employees to work at home. For other companies which have a strict requirement of workplace, they should increase the staff welfare to reduce the impact caused by the daily grind of getting to and from work, such as raising more money for workers’ accommodation.

Therefore, in the modern world, everyone can enjoy the freedom to choose the life they want, but they also care about the key importance mentioned above. People could choose the jobs without so long commute to work. And the companies should be more responsible to offer more help to the employees who live very far away from their workplace.