In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people.

To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In this world, there are increasingly growing number of elders thanks to the advancement of modern health care service. While people argue that there are shortcomings for governments, which are completely stood out by the beneficial face due to several reasons.

Undeniably, when there are high number of the elderly population, governments have to cut more slices of national budget for old-care programs. It seems stem from the fact that some older people cannot make remuneration by themselves, so the supplement from governments is what they can count on. Hence, the budget for other national projects would be tighter, which may indirectly affect the living of citizen. The prime example, in a province in Vietnam, the progress of building a bridge to suffice the needs of transportation has been postponed as a significant part of development budget was cut for retirement provisional.

On the other hand, advantageous of high elder rate among population are outstanding. Firstly, people with high age can organize the lessons where they can deliver their life experiences to the youngsters. In this way, the youth of the country can adopt the wise advice of their senior and aid the path of self-development. For example, my university holds many orientations of senior people who have achieved their life-time goal to inspire the freshmen. In the long term, a young generation with proper development will be ensured.

Moreover, there are high demands in some of career that old people can participate in. In this fast-paced days, people have to work extremely hard to keep up with the workforce requirements. The implication of this is escalating in the job opportunities like housemaid and babysitter to support the busy houseowners. As these types of job do not require so many physical efforts, older people can probably be employed into and help those who need. The elderly can not only find their old-age joy in these works, but also make a moderate figure of remuneration to aid their offspring.

To be concluded, though the drawback of ageing population on national budget is worth considering, its bright points completely overwhelm the shortcomings the terms of educational and satisfy population needs.