People in most of the countries are investing a lot of time at their workplace. This is mainly due to the work load for some and for others to show their dedication level. I believe, making an extra effort in order to achieve a position in a company at the cost of giving up a social life has more negative impact.

One of the major reason for spending more time at job is work load, as a company do not hire enough man power required to do a particular job, a single employee is over burdened with the work that needs to be completed in a given timeframe. So, in order to achieve that, employees need to work overtime. For instance, a research conducted by Economic times stated that majority of employees works for 55-60 hours instead of 40 hour work shift. Also, health problem is of major concern when an individual is working more than thier ideal time.

Although dedicating more time to a company limits social gathering for some, other takes it as an opportunity to prove their capability. For example, an employee hired at the lowest position tends to give enough time to the company just to prove their loyalty, and in return they expect to get promoted quickly. This is commonly seen with people joined as a fresher. Also, money is one of the crucial factor in everyone's life, but earning it by sacrificing the other important things like family time is not worth it.

In conclusion, working overtime may benefit an individual financially, however it makes a person to be less available to do any social activities with friends and family. In order to overcome this situation, companies should hire enough man power and stop over burdening their employees.