In many countries, people now wear Western clothes (suits, jeans) rather than traditional clothing. Why? Is this a positive or negative development?

People today tend to wear clothes from Western countries instead of their own nations. It is true that several reasons cause this trend, but this tendency is not a positive tendency.

To begin with, there are reasons why people often choose Western clothes to buy. The first one is that many individuals want to look more fashionable and special in others’ eye. Since most expensive clothes brands such as Valentino and Dior usually offer the latest trends for their customers across the world, a great number of people are willing to purchase jeans and suits of those companies. This would help them show a high social status and feel more confident with their peers at schools or workplaces. Additionally, the entertainment industries like films and music in developed countries also have had a strong influence on the young generations. For example, many of my friends always search for clothes that their American idols regularly wear in their shows to copy, because wearing those can make one’ fans look alike their favourite celebrity.

However, this development may negatively affect individuals as well as society. Firstly, buying clothes of luxurious brands often costs a large amount of money, while this money can be better used for travelling to new countries. People can therefore have opportunities to relax and discover different cultures and customs at the same time. Secondly, with an increasing quantity of persons wearing Western clothes rather than traditional ones, they have contributed to losing national identity which allows their hometowns to be distinguished from others. Thus, it is necessary to keep up old traditions by less clothing from the Western parts of the world.

In conclusion, this problem might be explained by aforementioned reasons, and it would have adverse impacts on both citizens and society as a whole.