One of the most pressing problems facing the world today is overpopulation. What policies do you believe governments should adopt to address the causes and effects of this problem?

It is true that population explosion has become a prominent twentieth century problem which the world is encountering. Therefore, it is necessary for governments to examine the causes and effects of this alarming trend before looking at solutions.

There are several causes leading to overpopulation and a lack of family planning could be considered the leading cause of this issue. A large number of people who face poverty, especially in poor and developing countries have little or no knowledge about family planning. As a result, they give as many children as they want, which increases the chances of producing more kids. Another cause relates to a lack of sex education. If couples who engage in sex have insufficient knowledge of contraception use, the chance of the female partners’ being pregnant might be relatively high which lead to more kids born in the future.

Population explosion leave a wide range of adverse impacts on the society as a whole. The biggest issue is that there will obviously be the shortage of the amount of resource needed to keep so many people alive. As when the population grows, it creates greater demands of providing food, water and fossil fuels. Therefore, only people who afford these things can survive. Moreover, overcrowding also leads to a decrease in quality of life due to the increase in traffic congestion and the decrease in living space.

However, there are some policies that government could take to tackle this problem. Firstly, governments need to legislate official family planning policy, regulating a maximum of two children per family along with raising awareness among people about this policy and letting them know about serious effects of overpopulation. Secondly, authorities should offer better sex education which will help people understand more about the potential consequences of having sex and one of the best way is to let them know about various safe sex techniques and contraceptive methods available to avoid any unwanted pregnancy.

In conclusion, in order to alleviate this problem, the government should legislate new laws about family planning and provide people with better sex education.